Community Beach Litter Pickup Volunteer Opportunities

Program Contact: Stinger Anderson, Administrative Assistant
(360) 240-5558 • stinger.anderson@wsu.edu

person_picking_up_litter_from_beach

You don’t need to sign up ahead of time to attend any of these beach cleanups. But, if this is your first beach cleanup with us or you would like to be notified of changes or cancellations, please contact Stinger a couple of days in advance of the event.

  • Open to all Adults, 18 or older
  • Wear appropriate clothing for the weather and footwear for walking over sand, cobble, and driftwood
  • Bags, gloves, and other equipment will be provided
  • Schedule may change due to adverse weather conditions
  • A one day volunteer park access pass is available for volunteers who do not have a Washington State Parks Discovery Pass

 

For more information or directions to a site, contact:

Stinger Anderson
Community Litter Cleanup Program Coordinator
stinger.anderson@wsu.edu
Office: (360) 240-5558   Cell: (360) 941-3171

Upcoming Dates:

 

APRIL 2017
Wednesday, April 12
1:30 – 3:30 pm
Keystone Spit East State Park

Thursday, April 13
1:30 – 3:30 pm
Keystone Spit West State Park

Wednesday, April 19
1:30 – 3:30 pm
Ebey’s Landing Reserve

Thursday, April 27
1:30 – 3:30 pm
Double Bluff County Park

Saturday, April 29 *
11:00 am – 2:00 pm
Admiralty Head Lighthouse

* Special Event- these dates will begin with a thirty-minute presentation
4/29- history of Admiralty Head Lighthouse and area, and the effects of litter on the marine environment
5/20- Joseph Whidbey- who was Joseph Whidbey? and the effects of litter on the marine environment
6/24- Keystone West- geological history and the effects of the currents and prevailing wind on this area, and the effects of litter on the marine environment

 

MAY 2017
Wednesday, May 3
1:30 – 3:30 pm
Keystone Spit East State Park

Thursday, May 4
1:30 – 3:30 pm
Keystone Spit West State Park

Wednesday, May 10
1:30 – 3:30 pm
Double Bluff County Park

Thursday, May 11
1:30 – 3:30 pm
Ebey’s Landing Reserve

Friday, May 19
9:00 – 11:00 am
Ft. Casey State Park

Saturday, May 20 *
9:00am – noon
Joseph Whidbey State Park

Friday, May 26
10:00 am – noon
Ebey’s Landing Reserve

Saturday, May 27
10:00 am – noon
Double Bluff County Park

Wednesday, May 31
1:30 – 3:30 pm
Keystone Spit East State Park

JUNE 2017
Thursday, June 1
1:30 – 3:30 pm
Keystone Spit West State Park

Friday, June 9
10:00 am – noon
Joseph Whidbey State Park

Saturday, June 10
10:00 am – noon
Ebey’s Landing Reserve

Wednesday, June 14
1:30 – 3:30 pm
Double Bluff County Park

Thursday, June 15
1:30 – 3:30 pm
Ft. Casey State Park

Friday, June 23
10:00 am – noon
Keystone Spit East State Park

Saturday, June 24 *
9:00am – noon
Keystone Spit West State Park

Wednesday, June 28
1:30 – 3:30 pm
Ebey’s Landing Reserve

Thursday, June 29
1:30 – 3:30 pm
Double Bluff County Park