Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Youth and Families Program Unit

Welcome to the Washington State University Youth and Families Program Unit!

Faculty and staff focused on youth and family issues and challenges provide statewide leadership to promote education, connection to resources and collaborations that create an environment where individuals of all ages can thrive in richly diverse communities across Washington state.

Faculty and staff in the Youth and Families Program Unit draw upon research-based programs and resources from the University.  Working in the human sciences, they incorporate local knowledge gained from living in the communities and engaging people, organizations, and communities to advance economic well-being and quality of life.

Major programs within the Youth and Families Program Unit include:

  • 4-H Positive Youth Development
  • Nutrition, health, and wellness education
  • Consumer food safety and food preservation
  • Strengthening Families, parenting, and child development
  • Financial Literacy

Doreen Hauser-Lindstrom, Program Unit Director
509.358.7686, doreen@wsu.edu

  • Linda Loos, Administrative, Operations, and Personnel Manager
    509.358.7548, loosl@wsu.edu
  • Nancy Deringer, State 4-H Associate Director
    509.358.7788, nancy.deringer@wsu.edu
  • Catalina Aragon, Interim State EFNEP Program Leader
    253.798.3252, c.aragon@wsu.edu
  • Jana Ferris, State Volunteer Development Specialist
    425.595.2950, ferrisj@wsu.edu
  • Stephanie Smith, State Consumer Food Safety Specialist
    509.335.0972, steph.smith@wsu.edu
  • Lee Anne Riddle, State SNAP-Ed Administrative Manager
    360.778.5818, lriddle@wsu.edu

Contact Info

140 S Arthur, Ste 500
Spokane, WA 99202

509-358-7548
loosl@wsu.edu