Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Coronavirus COVID-19

COVID-19 Advisory: WSU Extension is working to keep our communities safe. All Extension programming is being provided virtually, postponed, or canceled. Effective March 16, 2020, WSU Extension county offices and WSU Research & Extension Centers will be closed to the public. We are available via email, phone, and webconference.

Agriculture

Program Contact: Kiley Smith Small Farms Educator
360-482-2934 • kiley.smith2@wsu.edu

Grays Harbor County Agriculture

LEARN MORE & REGISTER

This is an in-depth farm and food business planning course. We will walk you through the necessary steps to create a business plan for an existing farm-based business or a completely new enterprise. Join weekly online classes with a statewide cohort of new and beginning farm businesses, hearing from a full line-up of guest experts and farmer speakers, and engaging in regional groups for more networking and community-based support.

 

  • $125 for a 9-week course offered fully online through Zoom! 
  • Starts February 2nd running through March 30th, 2020 
  • Class meets every Tuesday from 6:00pm to 8:30pm

¡Curso traducido al Español!

$125 para un curso de 9 semanas ofrecido completamente en línea por medio de Zoom. La clase se reúne cada martes de 6:00pm a 8:30pm.
Course offered with Spanish language interpretation and facilitation.

Military Veterans! 

What’s your next mission? Interested in farming? You are eligible for scholarship supported through a VA Farm Grant administered through the WDVA.

Check out all Washington Counties offering the course below…

 

 

The Key Exercises for Whole Farm Planning Course:

Intro to Biz Planning  .  Choosing Your Biz Structure  .  Market Channel Analysis  .  Enterprise Budgets  .  Marketing & Branding  .   Accessing Land  .  Cashflow & Finances  .  Labor & Insurance Management  .  Risk Management  .  Tips for Success

Course Locations & Facilitator Contacts

Statewide! English y Español!

Class Runs February 2nd – March 30th

Please Register by Jan 29th

Course Description:

Cultivating Success™: Agricultural Entrepreneurship is an in-depth farm and food business planning course. We will walk you through the necessary steps to create a business plan for an existing farm-based business or a completely new enterprise. Join weekly online classes with a statewide cohort of new and beginning farm businesses, to include a full line-up of guest experts and farmer speakers while also engaging in regional networking and support in breakout rooms. Becoming a successful agricultural entrepreneur is not easy! So, set yourself up from the start. This is business planning with a special emphasis on the financial and legal issues unique to farm-based businesses. Come out of this 9 week course with the core elements of a business plan to guide your small business forward.

Course Locations & Facilitator Contacts:
For general questions or statewide information and assistance contact Nicole Witham cultivating.success@wsu.edu.

*Note: Students do not have to be located in these locations in order to enroll. ¡Curso traducido al Español! The Spanish Speaking Cohort is available statewide.

Clallam County – Kellie Henwood – kellie.henwood@wsu.edu
Clark County – Terry Koper – terry.koper@wsu.edu
Grays Harbor County – Kiley Smith – kiley.smith2@wsu.edu
Jefferson County – Kellie Henwood – kellie.henwood@wsu.edu
Kitsap County – Jess Sappington – jess.sappington@wsu.edu
Mason County – Kendall Carman – kendall.carman@wsu.edu
Skagit County – Kate Smith – kate.smith@wsu.edu
Spokane County – Pat Munts – pmunts@spokanecounty.org
Statewide – En Español Spanish Speaking Cohort – Marilú Fernandez Silva – m.fernandezsilva@wsu.edu

REGISTER

 

 

 

 

Farm Fresh Guide 2020