Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Become a 4-H Leader

Adult volunteers play an important role in the 4-H program. Volunteers coordinate local community clubs and help to plan and conduct local, regional, state and national 4-H events.

We are always excited to get new volunteers so please call the WSU Asotin County Extension Office, at (509) 243-2009 to discuss becoming a volunteer.

To become a WSU Asotin County 4-H Volunteer Leader, please read our 4-H Volunteer Introduction Letter  and complete the New 4-H Volunteer Enrollment Forms

Leaders must also complete 4-H Leader Volunteer on-line and in person trainings.  You will be instructed as to how to do these trainings after your application is complete.

Return the completed 4-H Volunteer application packet to the Asotin County Extension Office, PO Box 9, Asotin, WA  99402 or visit us in the basement of the Courthouse at 135 Second Street, B107, Asotin, WA  99402.

Asotin County 4-H Leader of the Year

The leader of the year award recognizes outstanding 4-H leaders in 3 categories:

  • Leader of the Year – General or Project leader of an Asotin County 4-H Club
  • Teen Leader –  Senior 4-H member and enrolled in the Leadership project
  • Junior Leader – Intermediate 4-H member and enrolled in the Leadership Project

Nominations are due to the Extension Office Aug 1st, 2021
Leader Of The Year Nomination Form 2021


2006 Washington State 4-H Hall of Fame winner – Betty Witters

Betty Witters

Thank you past Leaders of the Year

2018-2019 Casey Finkbeiner
2017-2018 Amber Hartley
2016-2017 Stephanie Lathrop
2015-2016 Mike Cooper & Keith Weissenfels
2014-2015 Bandi Harrison
2013-2014 Jody Forgey
2012-2013 Doug Jones
2011-2012 Richelle Cooper
2010-2011 Debbie Beuke
2009-2010 Kim Belanger, Deb & Mike Marbach, Gail Campbell, Zoe Anne Byers
2008-2009 Jerrie Davidson
2007-2008 Cathy Carlson
2006-2007 Barb Appleford
 2005-2006  Randi Flinders
2004-2005 Polly Knutson
2003-2004 Gail Richardson
2002-2003 Math & Lisa Ubachs
2001-2002 Shaan & Linda Forsberg
2000-2001 Jodi Ausman
1999-2000 Dee Auer
1998-1999 Steve Polumsky
1997-1998 Paula Beckman
1996-1997 Julie Townsend
1995-1996 Laurel Kuther
1994-1995 Doug & Kathie Renfro
1993-1994 Teresa Grothe
1992-1993 Betty Witters
1991-1992 Kevin Christiansen
1990-1991 Margaret Reeves